Voces Executive Director Appointed to Governor-elect Evers’ Advisory Council

Monday, December 10, 2018 | Contact: Sam Singleton-Freeman, 414-469-9206, sfreeman@vdlf.org 

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN – Governor-elect Tony Evers and Lt. Governor-elect Mandela Barnes announced their appointees to the Next Generation Workforce and Economic Development Policy Advisory Council. Among the appointees is Voces de la Frontera Executive Director Christine Neumann-Ortiz. With this appointment, we know that the interests of immigrants and low-income workers will be rightfully represented under the new administration.

“More than 800,000 families in Wisconsin can’t afford basic necessities. Investing in an economy that creates good-paying, family-supporting jobs for the people of Wisconsin is a top priority for our administration,” said Evers. “Our Next Generation Workforce and Economic Development Policy Advisory Council will help our transition team put together a comprehensive plan to support working families and foster an economic climate that attracts and retains a talented workforce.”

The full list of appointees to the Next Generation Workforce and Economic Development Policy Advisory Council includes:

Masood Akhtar, CleanTech Partners
Jan Allman, Marinette Marine
Stephanie Bloomingdale, AFL-CIO
Zach Brandon, Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
Julie Cayo, EMPLOY Milwaukee
Tina Chang, SysLogic and MMAC Board Member
Bruce Colburn, Amalgamated Transit Union
Kevin Conroy, Exact Sciences
Paul Ehrfurth, Oconto County Economic Development Corp.
Morna Foy, Wisconsin Technical College System
Roberta Gassman, Former Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development Secretary
Sarah Godlewski, State Treasurer-Elect
Betsey Harries, Ashland Area Development Corporation
Paul Jadin, Madison Region Economic Partnership
Joe Kirgues, Gener8tor
Kim Kohlhaas, AFT-Wisconsin
Juan Jose Lopez, Department of Workforce Development Division of Employment and Training, Latino Professionals Association of Greater Madison (LPA), Latino Chamber of Commerce of Dane County
Terry McGowan, International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 139
Bob Meyer, UW-Stout
Mahlon Mitchell, Professional Firefighters of Wisconsin
Christine Neumann-Ortiz, Voces de la Frontera
Saul Newton, Wisconsin Veterans Chamber of Commerce
Chuck Pruitt, ABD Direct
Lisa Pugh, ARC Wisconsin
Jason Rae, Wisconsin LGBT Chamber of Commerce
Peter Rickman, Milwaukee Area Service & Hospitality Workers Organization (MASH)
Joel Rogers, COWS
Joanne Sabir, Sherman Phoenix, Juice Kitchen, and Shindig Cafe
Michael Waite, Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee
Dean Warsh, IBEW, Local 494